Skip to content

The Kitchen

July 29, 2010

Hi friends!  Thank you so much for all of your comments and good wishes on our new home.  We love it.  Oh, and on my ever growing belly!  It got really big, really fast, didn’t it?

Though I’m not quite ready to share all of the inside yet (we haven’t hung up pictures), I thought that I might share my kitchen with you all, since so many of you out there are foodies, and since the kitchen is truly the heart of the home.  The kitchen is one of the most important things to me in any house I live in, and I always like to have it set up right away.  The bedroom can wait, living room can wait, I want my kitchen!

DSC05782

Notice my Nalgene right in the middle of the counter?  Yeah, it NEVER leaves my side!

A double sink and beautiful counter tops.  I’m in heaven!

DSC05781

An ice and water dispenser.  I use this ALL THE TIME.

 DSC05777

A little baking area.  I already have a lot of baking to do!  We have a block party this weekend, so I thought it would be fun to share baked goods with my new neighbors 🙂

 DSC05778

NO MORE ELECTRIC STOVE!   This gas stove is powerful and I love it.  Plus, I finally have an oven that works.  When it says it is 350*, it actually is 350*!!!

I know it looks like we have a ton, but please remember that we keep a kosher home, so we have multiples of a lot of things.

 DSC05779

Ah, coffee!  Plus my juicer, other odds and ends, and in the background you can see some of Rufio’s treat containers.

 DSC05780

Another thing I have a lot of is bowls and platters.  They are all hiding out in the dining area, which doesn’t have any pics up yet, so I’m not ready to share.  I’m a firm believer that you can never have too many serving pieces.  I tend to gravitate towards white pieces, because I love the look, the fun shapes you can find and the way they make your food really pop.  We have quite a collection going, but I’m starting to get nervous with the little one on his way.  I know he won’t be mobile for quite some time, so I can’t be too worried about him breaking things, but I just know once he’s on the move, those little hands are going to be reaching for everything possible.

Though we don’t need a whole lot for our home, I have been doing some online shopping, and dreaming.  Solomon and I have created what we are calling our Home Wish List of things we want that just aren’t feasible right now.  Unfortunately, all of the millions of items available at CSN have been taking up my time, and the wish list keeps growing!  I know you are all familiar with them, who isn’t?  As much as I love my dishes, I thought it might be fun to find something that was a bit more sturdy, and not as likely to break or chip if a little boy got his little hands on them.  CSN offers a lot of Corelle dinnerware, serving platters and other odds and ends.  Those might be good once I have an active toddler running around, huh?  They even have cute teakettles!  I just may get a few, because I collect tea pots, and these are really cute.  Here’s my favorite of all my teapots:

DSC05783 
It’s funny because usually I hate all things bugs and amphibians, but I just love this!

DSC05784

I’ve also discovered they have a baby shop, so I just know that’s going to be dangerous once he comes along!

Do you collect anything? 

What is important to you to have set up in a home immediately?  Is the kitchen the heart of your home?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 5:00 pm

    Your kitchen is absolutely GORGEOUS!! I’m so jealous of how wide open and spacious it is!! If I had a kitchen like this I might actually enjoy cooking!! 😉

    The kitchen is definitely the heart of our home. I keep it clean all the time… even when other parts are messy… because when the kitchen is put together and tidy I can relax and feel happy in my home!! 🙂

  2. July 29, 2010 5:33 pm

    Your kitchen is AWESOME! and your house (I’m catching up on blogs after my honeymoon haha). I’m so excited about how close to you live now, I’ll have to start dreaming up blogger meet up places. I will say Shannon lives really close to really good ice cream places haha

  3. July 29, 2010 8:39 pm

    Love the kitchen! We have a double sink and it makes doing dishes so much easier. I wish we had those countertops though too!

    I don’t think I really collect anything. Unless you count workout clothes. Haha!

  4. July 29, 2010 11:01 pm

    the kitch is defi the heart of my home and if it’s not neat and organized, i am crabby! that was defi the 1st thing i unpacked 7 weeks ago when we moved in.

    love your new kitch!

  5. July 29, 2010 11:08 pm

    kitchen set up + bed made are musts for me! then i can at least eat and sleep while i deal with the rest.

    and i totally put away my clothes before a lot of other things. because they’re easier to organize

  6. July 29, 2010 11:14 pm

    I am drooling over your kitchen. I have downgraded in kitchen space and miss a spacious kitchen so much!!

  7. July 30, 2010 7:45 am

    The kitchen is always the first thing I want to set up when I move. It really is the heart of the home. I love my new kitchen. Its actually a lot like yours…same pennisula/bar, same counter tops. We need to get some bar stools fo rthe counter, but that’s more on the wish list right now since baby stuff is the most necessary in the immediate future. 🙂

  8. July 30, 2010 8:39 am

    I love how many cabinets you have!!! we have a totally remodeled kitchen but the one thing I wish we had was more cabinet space. JEALOUS!!!!!

  9. July 30, 2010 8:43 am

    wowza – that kitchen is beautiful! how fun 🙂

  10. Rachel permalink
    July 30, 2010 9:25 am

    Hey Mo! We miss you all in Meadville but the new place (or at least the kitchen) looks fantastic! What a beautiful space, and I’m sure you and Sol are turning the house into a very cozy and wonderful home.

  11. July 30, 2010 11:45 am

    Wow, I love your kitchen! I am so jealous. I live in a condo and have a teeny kitchen. That is one of my dreams, eventually, to get a house with a big kitchen.

  12. July 30, 2010 3:05 pm

    LOVE the kitchen! It’s gorgeous and spacious! I’ve never moved into anything other than a dorm room, so I can’t quite say where is my go to area, but I understand why the kitchen might be.

  13. July 30, 2010 6:04 pm

    I collect hard rock cafe shirts (just got one from Paris) and PJ bottoms, and Ryan and I are suckers for souvenir photos (just got one from Moulin Rouge).

    I also like to set up the kitchen first. I am a little OCD so I have to get things in their place. But, the room that I really need set up is my office. I teach online, and therefore work from home, and I need this space ready to go so I do not fall behind with my job.

    Great looking kitchen. I love the counters.

Leave a Reply

