Skip to content

75% Done

July 30, 2010

So glad you all love my kitchen, each and every one of your comments made me grin ear to ear!  I feel very lucky to have such a great place for cooking, baking and entertaining.  I’d love to have you all over for a dinner party one day!

It’s kind of my thing to do math in my head all the time.  I am always figuring out percentages, multiples, and all other kinds of equations, without even realizing I’m doing it.  Like, if I’m doing 40 minutes on the elliptical, I figure out how much I’ve done, and how much is left, in percentages or fractions.  I did it on my 400 mile ride from PA to NJ too.  For example, one I hit 40 miles, I was 10% and kept thinking I only had to repeat the ride 9 more times.  Make sense?

Well, it’s no surprise that this pregnancy has been all about the math for me!  At 30 weeks, I’m 3/4ths finished, or 75% done.  1/4 left, 25% more to go!  I’m a nerd, what can I say?  Many of you have confessed to me in the past that I’m not the only dork, so I know I’m in good company 🙂

Yes, I know I just did a baby post the other day, but that was a little on the late side.  So here goes, 3/4ths done…

Week 30

Baby is about 16-17 inches long and weighs roughly 3 lbs, and will gain about a 1/2 pound per week from here on out.  His eyesight is getting better, but because he sees everything through my belly, it’s all reddish to him!  His eyesight is about 20/400 right now-not too clear!  He is surrounded by a pint and a half of amniotic fluid, and that amount keeps decreasing as he needs to take up more room in there.  His ability to fight infection is now equivalent to mine.  His brain is growing everyday, and has all sorts of grooves and wrinkles.  He can now regulate his own body temperature, and is starting to shed the downy hair which has been keeping him warm for now.

DSC05787
I always hoped I’d be the pregnant woman who didn’t look pregnant from behind, and then she turns around and it’s like WHOA!  I’m glad I am.  It really does look like I have a basketball stuck up my shirt, doesn’t it?  It’s all boy for sure in there (at least if you believe the old wive’s tales).  He is hanging out incredibly high, and I want him to drop, just for my comfort!  He puts a lot of pressure on my lungs, so breathing is a pain.  I find I have to constantly change positions, and I need to be situated just so to sleep (still sleeping well though).  I’m used to sleeping with just one pillow, but now it’s 2 and a body pillow.  That will hopefully change soon.

Oh, and my other little boy will always be my first baby.  We had some relaxing time on our deck.

DSC05791
I’m heading to prenatal yoga in the a.m. and then we have our block party.  My baked goodies (chocolate cookies w/PB and chocolate chips and blondies) came out so beautifully in our oven that I almost cried from joy!  Hopefully afterwards we’ll finish some thing sup around the house (get more of our pictures hung!) and just RELAX!

What are you looking forward to this weekend?  Are you a math nerd too?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    July 31, 2010 10:36 am

    Morgan, you look absolutely beautiful! Pregnancy suits you well!

    Also, I love the picture of you and little boy #1 🙂

  2. July 31, 2010 11:05 am

    You look so great! I think that way too… like I’ve been thinking how next week I’ll be 50% there to meeting my little boy!! 🙂 I’m starting to feel like I need to get a body pillow. It’s so hard for me not to want to lay on my back and when I do, I wake up with terrible cramps in my lower back.

  3. July 31, 2010 11:52 am

    Love your pregnant belly!!!

    And I have to sleep with four pillows already. I hate that it is so uncomfortable!

  4. July 31, 2010 1:22 pm

    Looking good!!!! Congrats on 75% :).

    Not only am I a math nerd, I teach math too. All my students thought my baby would pop out already knowing Algebra 2 since he’s already listened to lessons from October through the end of the school year ;). I’m married to a science nerd so our kid is definitely going to end up hating them both and loving history (blech).

  5. J & R permalink
    July 31, 2010 2:25 pm

    You are so my sister

  6. greensandjeans permalink
    July 31, 2010 3:05 pm

    You are so cute!! I’m a total math nerd too. When I’m running a constant flow of averages, distances, and percentages is constantly running through my head!

  7. July 31, 2010 3:43 pm

    You look so cute!

  8. eaternotarunner permalink
    July 31, 2010 4:23 pm

    I am a HUGE math nerd! It was my major in college and my master’s is in math, everyone thinks I’m nuts.

  9. Penny permalink
    August 1, 2010 2:35 am

    Wow. That little munchkin is seriously enjoying hanging out under your ribcage. 🙂 That is one of the HIGHEST pregnant bellies I have ever seen. I bet breathing IS a pain. 🙂 Preganancy suits you very well. But, I’m biased. I love ALL pregnant bellies.

    Just found your blog. LOVE IT.

  10. August 1, 2010 9:51 pm

    That picture of you and Rufio is just precious!

    I hate math and I hate numbers…..I often get dyslexic with numbers and have to check my work a couple of times since I get paranois about it. Oh yeah and I work with numbers so that makes it all the more fun. But on the other hand, I am the top performer on my team, so I don’t know what that says lol

  11. August 2, 2010 11:40 am

    i do the math constantly when we’re on road trips. im always trying to figure out how much more we have to go before we hit civilizaztion or where the nearest landmark is so i know we’re almost there.

    25%…really! so exciting!

Leave a Reply

