Skip to content

The Bristol Lounge at the Four Seasons

August 2, 2010

It has been forever and a day since Solomon and I have been on a date.  I don’t really count running out for a quick meal as a date, I’m talking a chance to just relax, talk and be with each other.  To celebrate moving back to Boston, on Saturday, we decided to have date night, just the two of us :D.

We had a block party earlier in the afternoon, and because we ended up eating a later lunch/early dinner, Solomon decided to surprise me with dessert.  He took me to the Bristol Lounge at the Four Seasons, which features a beautiful dessert buffet on weekends.  I’ve been a few times before and always enjoyed every delicious, decadent bite!

We wanted to take our time and relax before plunging into the amazing looking sweets.  We sat and sipped our waters (decaf coffee for me too) and talked about what lies ahead for us (a lot!) and how lucky we feel right now.  We also talked about how difficult this past year has been, and how trying it was on our relationship.  If we can get through a year like the past one we had, with me literally teetering on the edge of depression, we can get through anything.  He just said he was so happy to have me back, as me!  Solomon also started talking about following our path, and using the stars as guidance, and when I lifted up my napkin, I found a Pandora bracelet with this charm on it:

I’ve never even seen this charm before, and I LOVE it!  It is so perfect for us right now.  I actually was at the point with my bracelet where I needed a new one, since mine is quite full.  I switched some charms that are relevant to us, our new life and the baby to the new bracelet:  I’m kind of obsessed with Pandora!

A kangaroo with a baby kangaroo in her pouch.

A buddha for my big, round pregnant belly.

An evil eye, to keep bad things away

A house for our new HOME.

Hearts.  Self explanatory! 

I also have a carriage to go on this bracelet from my Robin, but I want to wait until he gets here, because I’m superstitious!  I think this bracelet is going to need a little more color!

After I finally stopped smiling from ear to ear, we headed up to the buffet.  Then we dug in!  I wanted to take pictures of the buffet, but didn’t think it was an appropriate place for that.  It’s not a buffet, so much as a few elegant tables with beautiful plates of dessert.  There is also a crepe station, where they will make you crepes with different toppings.  I chose strawberry rhubarb since it was a flavor I’ve never had before.  I think that rhubarb may have to become a permanent fixture in my life, I LOVED it.  It felt like a very mature dessert. 

DSC05805 I had a mini chocolate cupcake which was light, fluffy and probably the most perfect buttercream I’ve ever tried.

DSC05801A little mini fruit tart.  I love fruit tart, and it’s not always done well.  This mini was had the thinnest, crumbliest crust with a creamy custard, and beautiful fruit on top.

DSC05802 This was a lemony mousse with vanilla bean flecks in it.  There was also some candied lemon peel as garnish, and fresh blackberries!

DSC05803 Of course a chocolate covered strawberry was a must!

DSC05804 They also had a thick, warm chocolate which could have been hot fudge, but there were small cups next to it, so I thought it would be fun to drink!

DSC05806 I added a little milk, just because this was RICH, even for my tastes!

DSC05808 Seriously decadent fabulousness!

I also had a bite of some chocolate mousse, a few bites of Solomon’s rice pudding (best I’ve ever head) and some of his bread pudding (again, best I’ve ever had) and a teeny scoop of fresh vanilla ice cream (my fave!) with homemade hot fudge, homemade caramel sauce and real whipped cream.

It was really a sugar full, sinful evening, but totally worth it!  It looks like we ate a ton, but remember this was basically dinner.  Also, all of the desserts are teeny tiny!  We left full, but definitely not overly stuffed.  Just very, very co
ntent.

Those of you in the Boston area should really check it out!  It’s not an everyday place, but worth it for a special evening, or a special night out.  The lounge can be a little loud, but it’s worth it for these yummy desserts!

Do you enjoy going out for just dessert or are you not a dessert person?  Do you prefer big desserts, and smaller tastes?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 9:37 am

    What a delicious date night!! I am gonna have to do some major hinting to Andrew to take me to a dessert buffett! Everything looks awesome!!

  2. August 2, 2010 10:05 am

    Yum! So many desserts; so little time.

  3. greensandjeans permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:57 am

    Oh mannnnnn! All of those treats look so amazing!

  4. August 2, 2010 11:36 am

    Morgan all these desserts look so yummy!!!!!!!

    I want that little cupcake in my belly!!!

    The Pandora charms are so beautiful! I love the buddha one!

    Happy Monday!!!!!!!

  5. August 2, 2010 12:40 pm

    That is so sweet. What great charms and it is so nice that it is meaningful.

    I love desserts and I will go out just for them. Actually last night, there is a big festival here for food going on now, and we did dinner, and then dessert 3 times. They were just small things, but there were so many vendors and then soft serve on the beach we could not resist.

  6. Jillian Sallee permalink
    August 2, 2010 12:46 pm

    I’m obsessed with Pandora too – I have almost 2 full bracelets, it’s almost time for a third! I’ve started mixing and matching with Chamilia and Troll and it makes for a very cool bracelet 🙂

    Chocolate dipped strawberries are my favorite dessert – hands down 🙂

  7. August 2, 2010 6:42 pm

    Looks like a great date night!

    I’m not a big dessert person. I really like soft serve ice cream or frozen yogurt, but that’s about it.

  8. August 3, 2010 7:50 am

    I will definitely be showing my husband this post! Dessert for dinner is my idea of a date night! I love the charms too. What a sweet gift 🙂

  9. robin permalink
    August 3, 2010 10:59 pm

    love you and love the new charms for Pandora!!!

    Can’t wait to see you soon.

  10. robin permalink
    August 5, 2010 7:56 am

    i love rhubarb. you should try a strawberry rhubarb pie.
    xo! Very cute and I am very happy for you and Solomon to be back home where you belong 🙂

Leave a Reply

