Skip to content

Are We There Yet?

August 30, 2010

Well hello my friends.  I was away in New Jersey until a little bit ago (ugh, 7 hour drive), and pretty much stepped away from my computer.  There were some family things, plus I had a whole lot of crazy to deal with!  It looks like from now until the baby comes, I’m not going anywhere else though, which I’m secretly glad for.  I feel like even though we haven’t had a traditional summer, it’s just been nonstop for us.  In a week, the Jewish High Holidays start and then it’s final countdown until little boy time!

I’ll be back this week with a more logical post, but I did want to give a super fast belly update.  I know a lot of friends and family have come to expect these, which makes me so happy!  I love that I can share this with everyone!

Week 34

He is almost 20 inches long and nearly 5 lbs. at this point.  Almost all of his organs have fully developed, except for the lungs which will keep developing until birth.  His skin is also turning from red to pink, and his fingernails are formed.  He could even have a full head of hair by now!  His fat layers, which will help him to regulate body temperature when he is born, making him fatter and his skin smoother.  He is urinating one pint a day (ew), and can recognize songs!

DSC05934

As for me, I’m feeling like the end could definitely come sooner rather than later!  He has gotten so strong that his movements actually hurt me, plus I’m dealing with Braxton Hicks contractions.  Sleeping is a lot more difficult, especially since I kind of have to haul my body around to move.  Long car rides are just uncomfortable (Boston –> NJ!) because sitting up for too long is awkward (I feel like my windpipe is being crushed), and because I basically live in the bathroom 🙂

So that’s that.  We got home not too long ago, and are all unpacked already.  We both like to feel really settled, and tend to unload the car and both unpack ASAP.  That makes us feel better about relaxing, since we know it’s all done!  Now we are just waiting to see if “The Situation” is going to be announced on Dancing with the Stars!

Are you anal retentive about unpacking right away, or do you let stuff sit in bags and your suitcases for awhile?  Do you feel more relaxed once you are a bit more “settled”?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 9:41 pm

    I used to worry about unpacking, but life gets in the away and sometimes when I get home I just want to do other things. Thinking of you, you look fabulous!

  2. August 30, 2010 10:37 pm

    Oh I let it sit 😉 I am lazy like that. Hehe! I can’t wait till you get to meet your baby boy 🙂

  3. August 31, 2010 7:27 am

    I could barely manage that drive not pregnant so you impress me! I love the belly pics 🙂

  4. August 31, 2010 8:02 am

    I know just what you mean….I either want to be standing or lying down. Sitting upright crams him up into my ribs. Those cute little movements are also becoming a little less cute. Still comforting to know he’s doing okay in there…but man! It sure can hurt now!

    I always want to unpack right away. I don’t feel settled until I do.

  5. August 31, 2010 9:01 am

    I definitely need to unpack right away — if I don’t, it will turn into a weeks-long task.

    ❤ ❤

  6. greensandjeans permalink
    August 31, 2010 10:04 am

    If I don’t unpack right away the bags will sit exactly where I dropped them for at least a week

  7. August 31, 2010 10:59 am

    I always unpack right away! lol I hope the next few weeks go by fast for you!

  8. August 31, 2010 6:03 pm

    I definitely feel relaxed once I’m settled. I could never be one of those people that instantly goes out and socializes when the get to their destination and then unpacks later. I need organization! haha
    Good luck with the next few weeks!

  9. August 31, 2010 6:54 pm

    Omg, you’re scaring me, haha!! 😉 Just kidding, but wow, it’s amazing how many changes will happen to me in the next 10 weeks when I get to your point. When did your feet start swelling? Mine are TERRIBLE already!!

    • August 31, 2010 8:43 pm

      It’s amazing how fast things change and just how strong your little boy will get! My feet started a few weeks ago, but mostly when it’s humid out. That and stretch marks are the only thing I really haven’t dealt with!

Leave a Reply

