Skip to content

My New Happy Place

September 7, 2010

Hello and welcome to a short week!  I hope you all had a fun Labor Day weekend.  Mine honestly wasn’t the best.  Solomon was in NJ because his wonderful great aunt Marilyn passed away.  I also didn’t feel so hot most of the weekend, but I guess being fairly comfortable for the last 35 weeks meant it was bound to happen!  I did have my weekly coffee date with Shannon, and we had an impromptu BBQ at Solomon’s parent’s house, but otherwise it was pretty calm.

I did spend a good amount of time with Rufio, going for some nice walks.  We also spent some time hanging out in the backyard.  He would galumph around (he galumphs. which isn’t quite running) and I found a brand new happy place on my beautifully stained deck.  I don’t know why it never occurred to me to do yoga outside, but I finally did, and couldn’t believe how relaxed I was!

Picture 082

All I need was my water (of course, I don’t go anywhere without it), and some music.  For some reason I found it logical to listen to Prince and the RENT soundtrack.  Because that’s normal yoga music, right?

Picture 083 Picture 081

When I was done, I explored my own yard a bit more.  Solomon and I have put some work into it and it’s exciting to have a yard of our own.  Rufio loves it back here, which is fantastic.  He especially loves this sandbox, but I think that’s because he is curious about it.  Poor guy, it’s going away soon!  We both want to get rid of it because we are afraid of it become a wild animal litter box, plus we want to grow a garden next year!

Picture 085

I also snapped some pretty pictures of my flowers.  I don’t even know what they are called, but they remind of the flowers in Alice in Wonderland (the Disney version)!

Picture 094 Picture 089 Picture 091 Picture 092 Picture 093

Do you have a “happy place” where you like to go and relax?  What helps you feel calm, centered and relaxed?

How was your Labor Day weekend?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    September 7, 2010 12:38 pm

    I’m about 99% sure those flowers are pansies. Go figure, of all the things you post about, that’s my comment!

    Anyway, I am so excited for you guys having a home and that it’s really coming along! I would start to do yoga if I had a setting like that!

  2. September 7, 2010 3:08 pm

    I agree with Amy, those flowers are pansies. They’re so pretty and colorful, we used to have a lot of them in our yard when I was growing up.

    My happy place where I can relax is my lake house in NH. But when it’s not summer and I can’t really go there, I’ll settle for any place quiet and comfortable where I can curl up with a book.

  3. September 7, 2010 6:08 pm

    cute flowers, although i have no clue what they are. i just know how to kill flowers, since i cant even keep an indoors plant alive :S

    i would totally do yoga on my porch too 🙂 if i did yoga.

  4. September 7, 2010 6:45 pm

    I’ve never done yoga outside!! Your happy place looks so lovely!! 🙂

  5. Danielle permalink
    September 7, 2010 7:35 pm

    Those flowers are definitely pansies, but I’m shocked that they’re blooming. They are usually a cool weather flower. If u guys need help with your garden next year, let me know! I used to work at a nursery and still love to get my hands dirty!

  6. September 8, 2010 7:21 am

    Hey morgan,

    you may have heard my name in passing but i’m a friend of robin’s from israel. she turned me on to your site…well to be honest i was stalking dotan’s page and saw you post one of your recipes, followed the link and here i am. i’ve been reading a lot of your posts and i think you’re 1, hilarious and 2, adorable, and 3, beautifully pregnant. as i read your site it kind of inspired me to do something like this of my own. i just made aliyah a few months ago and even though i’m working i dont have a lot of friends…especially since robin left, and i feel very disconnected. a website was for me a way to express myself and all the same reasons your probably started this.

    anyway i did a google site becuase creating an actual site is too overwhelming but oh well. i follow you on twitter ( my twitter is samsstone). good luck in your final weeks of pregnancy…and enjoy your kitchen. its soooo beautiful. my boyfriend and mom as an aliyah present bought me a kitchen aid mixer. i drool every time i look at it.

    anyway best to you and shana tova to you and your boys 🙂

Leave a Reply

