Skip to content

Yom Kippur 2010

September 18, 2010

**I pre-wrote this post because of the holiday I’m about to share with all of you!**

Today is Yom Kippur, also known as The Day of Atonement, and is one of the holiest days of the whole year.  Today is traditionally observed with a full day of fasting and intense prayers.  Many people spend the whole day in synagogue praying, and because there really isn’t much else to do!

According to Jewish tradition, G-d inscribes everyone’s fate for the coming year in the Book of Life on Rosh Hashanah, and that verdict is sealed on Yom Kippur.  This holiday is about seeking forgiveness, and seeking to atone for your sins. 

This is actually one of those holidays that many Jewish people will celebrate, even those who do not traditionally observe other holidays or festivals throughout the year.  People take this holiday very seriously, and in addition to fasting (no food or drink, not even water), many people will not wear leather shoes, bathe or wash (or even brush their teeth) or have any…ahem…personal relations.

Though healthy adults are expected to fast, certain people are exempt for medical conditions (like me)!  A large meal is usually eaten the night before, and then everyone heads off to synagogue for Kol Nidre services, which are always the night before.  Afterwards, most people will just come home and relax, then head off to synagogue the next morning.

As is traditional of Jewish holidays, even though people have been fasting for about 25 hours (sunset to sunset), there is of course a fun, feasting aspect of the holiday.  Many people will gather for a break fast, or a party or gathering to end their fast together.  A lot of people I know (and usually me) go right for the coffee at the end of the fast to get rid of the rotten headache.  Solomon’s parents always host a big break fast and invite a ton of people over.  All of the food is dairy, so there are lots of yummy soufflés, bagels and shmear, fish, fruit, veggies and desserts.  I always do a fair amount of baking to share with everyone.  This year I made:

While it is a somber holiday, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel, and lots of yummy food!

Coming up next week is the holiday of Sukkot.  Assuming I’m not in a hospital pushing a baby out, I can’t wait to share that with all of you!  Thank you so much for your warm response to my Rosh Hashanah post, I really love being able to share my religion and life with all of you and am always so happy when it’s well received!

For those of you that observe, I hope you had an easy and meaningful fast!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. greensandjeans permalink
    September 18, 2010 12:23 pm

    I love reading all of your posts about the holidays!

  2. September 18, 2010 6:36 pm

    wow, not even water? very intense, but im sure the spiritual blessing you reap is worth it. thanks again for sharing these holidays with us 🙂 hopefully the little boy wont come too early that we wont get to read about Sukkot!

  3. Solomon permalink
    September 19, 2010 6:37 am

    If he does come a bit early, I’ll be sure to post about Sukkot for Morgan!

  4. September 19, 2010 8:28 am

    hope the holiday went well. I admit I can’t fast either because of medical, although I am not pregnant. My blood sugar drops and most days by noon if I have not eaten, I am shaky, sweaty, and often unable to walk. I learned in high school that I really can’t do this and passing out in synagogue is no fun. I am linking to your Rosh Hashanah post and this one in one of my upcoming posts because you explained it all way better than I cever could. I am just so behind on my posts, so I hope it is up by midweek.

  5. September 19, 2010 10:35 pm

    sukkot was always my favorite holiday growing up! I cant wait to read about how your family celebrates

  6. September 20, 2010 10:56 am

    So can you change your fate between Rosh Hashannah and Yom Kippur? Like through your day of prayer or at the time in between? Can you make it better before the verdict is sealed?

    This post was very interesting! I knew a little about Yom Kippur but that was more detail!

Leave a Reply

