Skip to content

Perfect Pumpkiny Pillows

September 19, 2010

It’s not exactly a secret that I like to bake, is it?  However, there are some things that are reserved specifically for certain times of the year.  Like pumpkin cookies.  I always start making these around mid September and will usually make them on a regular basis until November.  They are strangely addicting.  I can’t pinpoint what it is about them that makes them so addicting, but it’s really hard to eat just one.

A few years ago, Carmen was going to visit family in Costa Rica, and she asked me to bake her a batch so that she could bring them.  Well, only one dozen ended up actually making it to Costa Rica because she simply couldn’t stop herself from eating these.  Oh, and Carmen does not really have a sweet tooth!

So as promised in my Yom Kippur post, here’s my recipe for pumpkin cookies.  I think a friend sent me this recipe awhile ago but I have no idea who exactly it came from (thanks whoever it is).  They were originally just pumpkin cookies with chocolate chips, but I loved the addition of chopped pecans and cranberries so much, that I decided to stick with it.  Oh, and I call them pillows because they are puffy little pillow cookies, not crispy or chewy.  I’m thinking it’s the combination of baking powder and baking soda maybe.

First, preheat your oven to 350*

You’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I like pecans in these)
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

First, cream together the butter and sugar until it’s light and fluffy.  Then add in the pumpkin, vanilla and egg. 

Mix and sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon (or just add these directly to the mix, it works fine), and add to the mix.

Add in your chocolate chips, nuts and cranberries and mix thoroughly. 

Just a tip, if you don’t have any chopped nuts on hand, and are like me and HATE chopping nuts (I just find it to be a pain), here’s my little trick.  I just put my nuts in a Ziploc bag and beat them up with a meat mallet. 

Picture 174

Drop by tablespoons (or use a scoop) onto well greased cookie sheets. 

Picture 177
Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the bottom edges start to lightly brown.  While the cookies are still warm, transfer to a baking sheet.

Picture 178 Picture 179 Picture 180
Now please excuse me while I go devour all 5 dozen of these. 

With a glass of milk. 

And a bottle of Tums.

What’s your favorite fall baked good?  Do you wait to cook certain things during special times of the year?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 8:37 am

    THOSE LOOOK SOOOOOOO GOOD! always looking for more pumpkin recipes since we have like trillions of pie pumpkins in the patch. I’ll have to try them!

  2. Amy permalink
    September 19, 2010 9:03 am

    Holy crap, I’m making these! 🙂

  3. September 19, 2010 2:13 pm

    Oh yummy!!!! I seriously need to find some pumpkin to use for all these fabulous pumpkin recipes floating around.

  4. September 19, 2010 8:09 pm

    Um, Im not a baker but need to make these soon! I think I am really going to try it out and love the concept of pillows as opposed to hard or chewy cookies.

  5. greensandjeans permalink
    September 19, 2010 10:04 pm

    I NEED pumpkin to come back on the shelves so I can make these!

  6. September 20, 2010 8:33 am

    Those look wonderful! My moom makes these pumkin apple muffins with a cinnamon crumb topping every fall. I can’t get enough of those!

  7. September 20, 2010 12:27 pm

    These look so good. One of my favorite cookies is pumpkin chocolate chip, but yours looks so good with all the other goodies in it too.

  8. September 20, 2010 8:48 pm

    Just caught up on the Yom Kippur post- love reading about it- glad you didn’t have to fast though!

    Those pumpkin cookies sound amazing. I wish I read this earlier tonight, Eric and I were craving cookies!

Leave a Reply

