Skip to content

Visions of Sugar Plums

December 13, 2010

 

Certain types of professionals and athletes have a stereotypical body type.  People can sometimes look at a certain person and tell what kind of sport they might play.  For example, I usually know when someone is a swimmer (I can especially tell with men).  That tiny waist, and big, broad shoulders tend to be a giveaway.

Michael-Phelps Michael-Phelps HELLO MICHAEL PHELPS!!!!!!!!!!!

Another body type I am always aware of is ballerinas.  There’s just something about the way they carry themselves-it’s beautiful, strong and confident.  However, when you look down at their legs, there’s the telltale sign-strong, muscular calves and feet turned out so that they form a V.  In addition, ballerinas are expected to be long and lean.

Think about it though-how many beautiful women (and men) don’t get the chance to be ballerinas, or really pursue their dreams because their body isn’t the right type for what they want to do?  I saw this video and it got me thinking-it’s about how you carry yourself, and who you know yourself to be, not just how you look that will determine how well you can perform.

‘Fat’ ballerina: I’m not overweight (for some reason I can’t figure out how to embed Hulu videos!)

Is this woman fat?  Absolutely not!  She’s beautiful, strong and the SUGAR PLUM FAIRY for crying out loud!  For anyone to call her fat is absolutely laughable.  I love how she wants to celebrate and embrace different body types in ballet, rather than criticize them.

What do you think of this story?  Do you think it’s best for people in certain professions to have a single body type, or should we celebrate and embrace every body type?  Was the journalist out of line to say she “looked as if she’d eaten one sugar plum too many”?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 3:34 pm

    I definitely think that is ridiculous! I still think that if you have the drive and the talent, you should be able to make anything happen!

  2. December 18, 2010 8:06 am

    Wow, this story kind of made me want to throw up. I have to say, I am impressed by her for being so classy about the whole thing because I’d be angry. She couldn’t be any less fat!!!! Ugh!

Leave a Reply

