Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Mini Cheesecakes

December 20, 2010

So, how’s everyone doing?  What have you all been up to?  Anything exciting going on in blog world while I’ve been gone?  Things here are going great, but more on that later.

What we have today is a recipe.  Yes, a recipe.  This busy new mama is still finding time to get into the kitchen whenever I get a chance.  However, I have been cooking a lot of standbys, and haven’t tried much new and exciting.  Except for this.

The other week Solomon and I hosted the family Hanukkah party.  We had a brunch, and had A LOT of food.  I knew I wanted to bake, but I wasn’t sure what, until I remembered I had a block of cream cheese in the fridge that I didn’t end up using to make a big cheesecake.  I thought that since everyone likes mini things, it might be fun to do mini cheesecakes instead.  Because I have a mini cheesecake pan.  Really, I do.  What no home is complete without.  I bet you could use a muffin tin to make mini cheesecakes too.  In fact, I know you could.

I didn’t take many pictures since I was busy trying to do so much, but I did get a few mediocre shots of the end result.  In my opinion, the star of the show was inspired by Janetha, and her love of vanilla paste.  I had forgotten about this wonderful little baking goody, and just had to incorporate it into my cheesecakes!

Picture 296
For the crust:

  • 1/3 stick melted butter
  • 3 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 package graham crackers

First, preheat oven to 375*.  Then, spray the mini cheesecake pan with nonstick spray.  Combine all of these ingredients in a food processor.  Divide them evenly among the cups and press the crumbs into the bottom and up 1/3 of the sides of each cup.

For the filling:

  • 1 8-oz. package cream cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Blend the first 5 ingredients, and add in the chocolate chips.  Divide this evenly among the cups.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Remove the pan and place on a wire rack to cool.  At this point, they are ready to eat, and to be dislodged from whatever you used to cook them in.

Picture 302
My pictures of these absolutely suck.  Bummer.  Oh, but they were good…so good.  I think the addition of the sour cream absolutely made them.  They were a hit too!  All dozen were the first thing gone from our buffet :).  So proud!

Picture 315 Yummy, creamy, with a little hint of vanilla, and just the right amount of chocolate chips.  What’s not to like?

Oh, the best part…I didn’t have to do dishes!

Picture 319

In other news Aaron is growing up fast!  He’s sleeping really well (giving me long 6-7 hour stretches at night) and eating well too, so he’s growing nicely (I’m feeding him the good stuff)!  He’s so alert now, and much more fun to play with.  We sing songs, play on his playmat and go out on lots of adventures, all over the place.  We also have playdates once in awhile, and are part of 2 new mom groups!  He continues to be spoiled and loved by everyone who meets him.  He’s such a lucky boy.  I wish for everyone to feel that kind of love, especially this time of year!

Picture 370 Two months already!  Amazing how fast time flies!

Before I wrap this up, a little more cuteness, just to make you smile!

Picture 362 Picture 028 Picture 052 Picture 089 Picture 272
Who knows this little studmuffin Aaron is playing with?  Why, it’s Shannon’s son Noah!

Picture 283 Picture 293 Picture 300 Picture 330 Don’t you just love the tushy shot?

What’s your favorite mini dessert?

What’s been your favorite part of the holidays so far?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 2:15 pm

    These look terrific! I have that same vanilla bean paste and it is a miracle flavorer.

  2. December 20, 2010 8:25 pm

    looks delicious!! hope mother hood is treating you well he is ADORABLE!

  3. December 20, 2010 8:56 pm

    Hehehehe at his tush shot, too cute. He is getting big!! And double yay for him resting more and allowing you more sleep.

    I love the idea of mini cheesecakes. I’ve only made cheesecake once but would love to try these.

  4. Solomon permalink
    December 21, 2010 9:43 am

    Excuse me for the “sucky” photos…I took them 😉

  5. December 22, 2010 2:44 am

    Yum! With family around I have finally made it back in the kitchen. I’ll have to try those.

    Such handsome boys we have! And so big! Can’t wait to see you both after the craziness (and fun) of this week is over!

  6. Robin Z H permalink
    December 22, 2010 9:40 pm

    Looks like a fun recipe, Mo! Thanks for sharing and I love all the pictures of sweet Aaron. Miss you and love you.

  7. December 23, 2010 3:59 pm

    anything vanilla that i inspired is a joy to hear about. love the recipe!

  8. December 24, 2010 9:05 am

    What a cutie he is!!! Great looking mini cheesecakes. I should try that some time.

  9. December 26, 2010 6:34 pm

    Such a cutie patootie!

    My fave mini desserts are Oreo balls or cookie dough balls, scrumptious!
    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

