Skip to content

They Belong at a Katy Perry Concert

January 16, 2011

I don’t bake nearly as much as I’d like to right now.  It’s kind of hard with Aaron around.  Truthfully most of the problem is timing.  I’m worried that I’ll bake something, get it in the oven and have the kitchen cleaned then he’ll want to eat.  The thought of grabbing something out of the oven while he’s eating makes me hesitate.  I feel like I would be mean to pull him off of his food source just to keep brownies from being burned.  I know that not baking regularly is only temporary, and I’ll be baking up a storm in no time.  When I do get a chance to bake, I gravitate towards things I know and love.  Tried and true recipes.

This past weekend, Rachel came to visit.  Since there were 2 of us, it made baking a lot easier.  We decided we wanted cupcakes.  I was tempted to try something new, but realized I just wanted simple.  So we decided to make my favorite vanilla/vanilla cupcakes in the world.

Then, because we’re Morgan and Rachel and can’t make anything simple, we decided to decorate.  First we thought we should dye the frosting.  I thought it might be fun to do a little pale pastel pink.  My logic was that I’m always surrounded by boys, a little pink would be fun.  Well, I forgot just how ridiculously strong gel coloring is.  Check out my “pastel” frosting.

Picture 164
After we got over the fact that the frosting resembled pepto bismol, we went to town (well, Rachel went to town piping and decorating…I just used a spatula to spread on icing and decorate with lots of fun pretty sprinkles).

Picture 167

Picture 176 Picture 163 Picture 165  Picture 169 Picture 172 Picture 173
They look like they belong in Barbie’s dreamhouse, don’t they?

Rufio was desperate for a taste of frosting.  I thought I would be cute and stick it on his nose.  It’s just so fun to watch his ridiculously long tongue try to lick it off.  Well, he got overly excited, and look where the frosting ended up.

Picture 177 (BTW, those pants I’m wearing rock.  Who doesn’t need fleece duck pants?)

Picture 179

At some point, in my infinite maturity, I commented that the cupcakes looked like they belong at the concession stand of a Katy Perry concert.  So I did this.

Picture 181
It seemed very Katy Perry-ish.  Who said being a mom means you need to be mature?

Also, I can’t believe I’m posting this picture.  Having a breastfed baby has brought me to a whole new level of comfort with my body apparently.

Picture 186 Yum!

I’m off to devour a cupcake and enjoy the Golden Globes.  Lots of beautiful dresses tonight!

So tell me, what’s your favorite tried and true baking recipe?

How was your weekend?  Did you do anything fun?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 10:37 am

    Wow, those are awesome! It’s like you had a mini cupcake shop going on for awhile. And when you said Katy Perry I was thinking of the exact thing.

    Glad Rufio got to enjoy some of the frosting, he is a doll 🙂

  2. January 17, 2011 1:49 pm

    Nice um cupcakes! Very Katy Perry style. I could go for a cupcake right now, but I guess I will settle on dinner.

  3. greensandjeans permalink
    January 17, 2011 8:14 pm

    I’m pretty sure Katy Perry has worn some kind of pink cupcake bra before. If not, I’m sure she will sometime very soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Four the Hell of It « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Day 10: I ♥ Swimming « Beantown Momma

Leave a Reply

