Skip to content

The Prince Lives Here

January 18, 2011

I’ve had a lot of friends and family ask me to see pictures of Aaron’s room.  I also wanted to share them with all of you!  I’m really proud of his room, I just love it!

My one rule when picking a theme/bedding for Aaron’s room was that it not be any animals playing sports.  I deemed it too unrealistic.  I mean, really…lions don’t play soccer.

So, his room was not what we thought it was going to be.  At first, we had a farm theme, which was weird since it’s so not our thing.  It was just cute.  Then we switched to a blue and brown theme, with puppies and stuff.  It was cutesy, but we weren’t totally sold.

Picture 210 
It wasn’t until we saw this set at Babies ‘R Us that we knew it was the right one.  Something about the colors seemed more mature to us than a lot of the other bedding we had seen.  We loved that there were animals, but it wasn’t cutesy.  We selected the Jungle Jigsaw line, and got the 6-piece set (quilt, sheet, bed skirt, valance, bumper and diaper holder thingamajig).  We also got a second valance. mobile and lamp from the line.

First things first…the door.  My mom bought this needlepoint piece years and years ago, and was just waiting for a grandchild to make it.

Picture 188
We also have a mezuzah that we picked on his door.

Picture 190 Since a baby quilt is absolutely pointless, we hung it on his wall along with some quilt clips I found on Amazon.

Picture 191

The diaper thingamajig is useless to us, because we have a little diaper caddy, but it looks cute on the closet door!

Picture 195 Picture 192 This was such a sweet gift from my beautiful “cousins” Elyse and Hayley.  I can’t wait for him to be old enough to pull the wagon around!

Picture 194
Bookshelves:

 Picture 197
Aren’t those little green giraffe canvas bins great?  They hold things like burp clothes, hats and socks and just fit in perfectly.  We also have Red Sox/Yankees bookends from Elyse and Hayley’s parents, so cute!

Close up of the lamp:

Picture 196
The mobile hanging over his bed:

Picture 198
Though it doesn’t quite go with the theme, this piece of art hung in my nursery.  We didn’t want to design a room around it, but we wanted it in there!

Picture 199
Bed shots:

Picture 201 Picture 200
I love all of the different textures and fabrics on the bumper, plus the look of watercolors.  Oh, and those things?  That’s a Whoozit, and a white blood cell (to keep him healthy-from a science teacher friend)!

His crib and changing table are from the same line.

Picture 202
One other piece of artwork hangs over his changing table.  Aaron
’s name in architecture (from Alphabet Photography).  We have our last name hanging in our living room.

Picture 203

The rocker doesn’t match, but it’s comfortable.  So comfortable.  Plus, it holds the “monthly monkey.”

Picture 204
Another wonderful handmade gift:

Picture 206 Picture 205
We also have 2 more bookshelves.  We have loads of “stuff” and books.  Books are super important to us, we needed lots of space to hold them!  We got 2 of the same bookshelf from Ikea, and just put one horizontal, and one vertical.

Picture 207 Picture 193 
There you have it, a tour of Aaron’s room.  A perfect room for my little prince 🙂

Maybe I should do a little tour around the rest of the house…what do you guys think?  I’d love to share if you’d love to see!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 9:56 am

    Very cute! Not too cutesy though. all boy 🙂

  2. January 18, 2011 10:22 am

    Very cute! But not cutesy. I love how there is a theme but also different things like the picture from your nursery, a wagon from family, the thing from your mom. It brings so much love into the room and makes it cozy!

  3. January 18, 2011 12:13 pm

    love it! you did a great job matching everthing. i would love a house tour!

  4. Jillian Sallee permalink
    January 18, 2011 2:17 pm

    I would love a house tour too! I love the Alphabet photography, very cool 🙂

  5. January 18, 2011 6:03 pm

    His room is GORGEOUS!

  6. January 18, 2011 7:37 pm

    Cute room. I love the giraffes.

    I’m totally trying to look at your bookshelf to see if you have any of my company’s books but I can’t tell!

  7. January 20, 2011 7:36 pm

    I can’t believe I missed this post! I guess that’s what I get for not doing Google Reader 🙂 I love Aaron’s room! The quilt on the wall is such a good idea and you have so many places to store books and toys and what not. My favorite is Aaron’s name in architecture. Love it!

  8. greensandjeans permalink
    January 25, 2011 10:03 am

    Aaron’s room is ADORABLE! Can you come decorate my room too?

Leave a Reply

