Skip to content

Half Marathon Take 2

February 7, 2011

Almost one year ago to the day, I announced I was going to be running a half marathon

Then I got pregnant, and though I was still allowed to run, and could have done the half, I personally could not run anymore.  I sold my bib and figured I’d start running again when the time was right.

I discovered the time was going to be fairly soon after Aaron was born, since I was accepted to run the NYC marathon for 2010, and was able to defer until this year.

With that goal in mind, it made sense to start out a little smaller.  So I’ve decided to run the Long Branch Half Marathon on May 1!  I hope that Solomon will join me, and I have several friends who said they were going to run too!

untitled Running at the beach, what could be better?  You know I’ll be fist pumping the whole way too!  It’s a fairly flat course, with a nice ocean breeze, and I just can’t wait!  My dad has done this race before in the past, and I’m so excited to do it too!  I think it will be a great way to start racing (though I do want to do some 5Ks and 10Ks beforehand), and will get me pumped for the NYC marathon!

Like last time, I’ll be following Hal Higdon’s plan.  Here it is:

untitled I’m not following the plan exactly, since life does get in the way.  I started the plan today, and ended up running 3 miles instead because that’s what worked.  It’s all about flexibility!

I know you all know about the ridiculous winter we’re having in Boston.  Since I can’t get out and run with Aaron, I’ll be doing a lot of training inside, on a treadmill.  It’s the perfect way to run while Aaron naps, and I’ll never have to join a gym again if I don’t want to! 

I definitely can’t wait to get outside in a few months time with the jogging stroller, but until then, this is the perfect solution!

I know I’ll need some advice, and will be posting more about running (when I do post, eep!)

Wish me luck, I’m super excited!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 6:27 pm

    So exciting!!!! Can’t wait to follow along. And that Hal plan is the plan I already looked at should I decide to do a half much later this year.

  2. February 7, 2011 7:57 pm

    This is awesome!!! I’m happy for your decision to go for it and can’t wait to read about your progress and duh, race day of course. You go girl!

  3. February 7, 2011 9:43 pm

    Woo hoo! That’s great. I’ve used that running plan several times in the past and it’s been great.

  4. February 8, 2011 5:30 pm

    Very cool. I almost forgot about the marathon thing. Glad you have a treadmill to make use of.

  5. greensandjeans permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:07 pm

    That is so exciting! I have my name in the lottery for NYC this year! (Oh, and I totally fist pumped across the finish line at my fall marathon)

  6. February 12, 2011 2:29 pm

    Yay for running a half 🙂 I think I’m going to do the Cambridge 5 miler in April if you want to do that as a warm up run hehe

    Then again I really gotta get back in the running zone or I’m not going to be doing that.

    • February 12, 2011 7:01 pm

      If you do the race I would live to join you! I hope you do get back into the zone!

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. February 12, 2011 5:55 pm

    That’s great! Good luck! Can I ask what kind of treadmill you have? The husband and I are in the market for one and have no idea which one to get!

    • February 12, 2011 7:02 pm

      How’s motherhood treating you? Amazing, isn’t it? I’m glad Hunter is doing well. We got the Sole F80. Both Sears and Dicks sells it. It folds and is gentle on my knees. We’re happy with it but there are some drawbacks (the programs aren’t great) but generally we love it.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

