Skip to content

Naptime Lemon Buttermilk Sherbert

April 4, 2011

Maybe this is a misnomer.  I didn’t make this sherbert while Aaron napped.  It’s actually a long process, and though this kid does love his sleep, there’s no way I’m getting a super long nap out of him in the afternoon.  There’s just too much for him to see and do, so he tries to stay awake.  Stubborn.

I did do the hardest part of this sherbert while he napped, which wasn’t hard at all.  It was really easy and made me wonder why I haven’t used my ice cream maker once since we moved into our house.  I’m glad I decided to change that.

I’ve actually never had buttermilk ice cream or sherbert, but since I had a ton of buttermilk left over from my granola crusted halibut the other night, and didn’t really know what to do with it.  I made some bread but still had enough left over so I thought how clever it would be to make it into ice cream.  I didn’t realize that was actually a thing and I wasn’t in fact a genius (at least not in this instance).

Picture 083 
I scoured my millions of cookbooks and every recipe for buttermilk ice cream called for at least 6 egg yolks, which I just wasn’t feeling.  I took to Google and found a great recipe from David Lebovitz’s Perfect Scoop (which for some reason I don’t own and really should…ahem, Solomon).  A lemon buttermilk sherbert sounded divine.  Plus, it’s easy.  Here’s what you need:

  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 medium lemon, preferably unsprayed
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (from about 2 lemons)

Combine the water and sugar in a medium saucepan, and grate the lemon zest into the pan.  Heat this, stirring frequently until the sugar dissolves. 

Picture 003
Remove from heat and let the mixture come to room temperature.  Then put the syrup into the fridge until it is chilled.

Once the syrup is chilled, whisk the buttermilk in, then the lemon juice.

Picture 007 
This is the whole mixture.  Put it in your ice cream maker, and let it do the work. 

Picture 008 
Verdict?

Meh.

Picture 082 
I liked it but didn’t love it, and I don’t think I would make it again.  I haven’t lost faith in David Lebovitz, I just wasn’t at all into this.  It reminds me of generic lemony tart yogurt.  I love homemade ice cream, but I think I’m more inclined to stick to using regular milk in the future (besides, I make a mean vanilla that can’t be beat).  Honestly, I’d rather head over to 40 Carrots or Pinkberry if I’m going to have tart yogurt.  I mean, it was good and I would love it if I didn’t have those options near me, but I’m not dying to make it again.  I can’t share only amazing, delicious recipes can I?

Besides, it did get me to break out the ice cream maker again.  The future looks bright!

Do you ever make ice cream at home?  What’s your favorite recipe?

Are you a tart yogurt fan?  What’s your favorite?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

