Skip to content

Fun With Baby Food

April 12, 2011

Aaron had way different ideas about when he would start solids than I did.  If he had his way, I’m pretty sure he’d be eating a plate full of all different foods by now.  This child has been interested in food for quite some time, and while I tried to pretend it wasn’t happening, he was more than ready for solids.

In my mind I was going to nurse Aaron exclusively until he hit 6 months, and only then would he be introduced to a world of colorful and delicious produce.  About a week and a half ago, I realized that time wouldn’t wait.  He was reaching for ANY food that was in front of him.  His eyes would follow the fork from the food to someone’s mouth.  He knocked over water glasses in his attempt to get to food, and tried to drink wine.  It was time.

So 10 days before his 6 month birthday, we started Aaron on solids.  That’s about 6 months anyway, and it’s not like he’s going to stop nursing.  Verdict?  SUCCESS.

Picture 081

Picture 101
MMMMM…oatmeal is delicious!

Once we moved past the boring and bland oatmeal, it was time to introduce Aaron to one of my favorite foods…the avocado!  He’s not so sure about this one.

photo
After avocado the real fun starts…orange veggies! 

Picture 170
I decided that whenever possible, I wanted to make my own baby food.  If you look at the jars, it’s basically the fruit or vegetable and water, so why can’t I do that?  There are tons of ways to do this at home, but there are also several machines on the market that do it all in a few steps.  Baby Brezza was kind enough to send me their One Step Baby Food Maker, and I couldn’t be more excited about it!

Picture 173

The machine steams and blends the produce, so there is no need to clean anything more than just the machine!  No pots and pans, no blender, just the machine!
 

Picture 174

All you do is fill the reservoir with water (there is a measurement on the bowl).
 

Picture 175

Cut up your veggies and put them into the bowl.

Picture 176

Set the timer to steam for a certain amount of time (the instruction manual lets you know how long).  For sweet potatoes, this was 25 minutes.
 

Picture 177

  
Your work is done.  The veggies steam for however long they need, then the machine automatically purees it all for 30 seconds.  Once you’re done, you have homemade baby food!
 Picture 180

I then measured out 1 oz. portions (I weighed them) and froze them.
 Picture 181 Picture 182
There is also a function on the machine where you can just steam or blend.  This came in handy when making green beans.  Though I steamed them long enough, they just didn’t puree down to a smooth consistency.  Actually, I tried to blend them more in the Brezza, but ended up transferring them to a blender to get them as smooth as I wanted.  Kind of a pain, but what can you do?

Picture 092

Picture 094 
Appetizing, isn’t it?

The food just pops out of the tray, and is the perfect amount for one serving.

Besides, who cares how it looks if Aaron loves it!

Picture 051 Picture 048
This child may like sweet potatoes more than I do!

I’m so excited to try more foods in my Brezza…butternut squash, apples, pears, peas…you name it, Aaron is going to try it!  He loves to eat, so it might as well be fun, right?

Oh, and notice those bare arms in the picture above…this is how daddy decided to dress him this morning.  What a stud!

Picture 054
Too cute!

Bottom line…love being able to make my own food, with little to no mess.  Thank you so much Baby Brezza, this is fun!

What foods does your baby like?  Did you like fruits and veggies when you were little?  Do you still like them (be honest)?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ally permalink
    April 12, 2011 1:58 pm

    Jonah HATED avocado the first few times I tried to give it to him…so, I learned a fun trick to blend it with banana (which he LOVES) then slowly decrease the banana ratio until finally, he eats avocado solo. Success!

  2. April 12, 2011 2:26 pm

    omg i LOOOOOOVE making baby food but too bad my baby hates eating it. at the beginning he’d just seal his mouth totally shut. then he liked it for about 2 weeks. and now he just pushes the spoon away, turns his head, and screams bloody murder.

  3. April 12, 2011 3:06 pm

    I need the Baby Brezza! I am planning on making my own baby food but was just going to use my food processor. I love that Aaron is a few months older than Hunter so that I can learn so many things from you!

  4. April 12, 2011 3:15 pm

    This is cool… I’d be curious to understand the “return on investment” of the Baby Brezza versus buying organic baby food. I assume you are buying organic vegetables as well. Then there is the time factor… yes, your time is worth money. 😉 Essentially… how long will it take to pay off the Baby Brezza making your own baby food versus buying organic baby food jars (especially when on sale). Example: It cost “X” to make the sweet potatoes which equates to Y servings versus Z jars of organic baby food which equates to Y servings and the difference should be less for the homemade. Hoping the cost of organic baby food jars cost more, that difference then would be subtracted from the cost of the Baby Brezza or divide the cost of the Baby Brezza by the savings and that will tell you how many times you will have to use it to get your “return on investment” . Can you tell I work in technology. 😉

  5. April 12, 2011 11:28 pm

    love the baby food maker!!! I think I’ll do the same thing when my time comes.

  6. April 13, 2011 12:06 am

    You do make it look easy to make your own baby food 🙂 I think whether or not I make it will depend a lot on whether I’m back at work or not- but I think being home I’d definitely be looking for ways to save money and make my own baby food!

  7. Amy permalink
    April 13, 2011 2:03 pm

    We started solids a few weeks ago, and Sophie definitely seems to be a fan of the sweet potato (we’re revisiting avocado and butternut squash later because come on, those are delicious). I’ve been making all of hers too because I believe it will be healthier and cheaper. I had the Baby Pro All-in-One, and hated it (stupid thing wouldn’t steam anything), so I got a steamer basket and small food processor. The Baby Brezza looks awesome though; they should totally send me one! :-p

Leave a Reply

