Skip to content

Robin is a Runner

April 14, 2011

This is a new series here at Beantown Momma.  People who run will be sharing their stories-why they run, how they became a runner, why they love it.  If you would like to contribute to the I Am A Runner Series, please email me.  I’d love to share your story!

Hi everyone.  Those of you who followed Morgan’s old blog might remember me.  My name is Robin and Morgan and I have been friends since 2000.  We swam together on the Brandeis Swim team (Roll ‘Deis Roll) and have been best friends ever since.

Picture 155

Of the many things Morgan and I talk about when we get together or chat on the phone, working out, what we’re eating/good recipes, and how we’re feeling are always at the top of the list. I have watched Morgan progress and change her workout routine (and vice versa! In fact, most of the workout videos I do are a result of Morgan’s recommendations to me) and it’s awesome to see how far we’ve both come; sometime I’ll tell you guys the story about how she didn’t want to run so badly that she came up to me at lunch and said "I think I’ll tell Coach that I can’t run today because it’s raining and I just don’t feel safe".  That was probably about 10 years ago and now she is preparing for a marathon!

I ran a marathon in 2008.  I never considered myself a runner and still have a hard time saying that out loud.  I began running because I could. As a swimmer I had the endurance to run.  I lived in NY after college which is a very expensive city.  Joining a gym with a pool is also expensive.  I was on a non-profit, entry-level salary.  Expensive was not an option.  On top of that I traveled a lot for work so I didn’t want to invest in a gym that I wouldn’t be around to use half of the time.  So, I took up running; I viewed it as a sport you can do anytime, anywhere, with little money needed. 

I ran into an old friend who was also a "ex"- swimmer, and over dinner, she told me she’s signed up for a 10 mile run in Central Park and asked if I’d want to join.  Though she lived in Brooklyn and I lived in Manhattan we became fast friends (again) and running buddies.  The training runs were spent chatting and were therapeutic.  When I wasn’t running with Kelsey, I was listening to my iPod while people-watching as I ran the streets of Manhattan.  I never loved it, but I could do it and having a buddy–someone I need to answer to, keep up with, meet halfway through the run, etc– motivated me to get out of bed.  Then, Kelsey says, "I think I am going to train for my second marathon…wanna join?"  I figured this was a unique opportunity; when will someone agree to train for a marathon with me so I will have that additional motivation, someone to help me plan the workouts, someone who’s done one before and can guide me?  So, I agreed.

n603218145_942984_6029 
I didn’t love the marathon itself, but the training was fun.  I ran it in 4:12:13.  Not bad, but not great.  I am not sure if I’ll do one again, but I am so happy I conquered it at least the one time.  What I did love, however, was the first half of the full marathon.  I had great music, a crowd to run with, and was feeling good; I was literally dancing with my music. 

So, when Mo said she was planning a half marathon after Aaron’s  birth (I am his PROUD godmother, by the way!) and asked if I wanted in I jumped at the opportunity.  I had a rough year last year and while I had worked out sporadically I wasn’t feeling good about my routine or myself.  Morgan and the half marathon are fantastic motivation.  She mapped everything out on a Google doc and though she lives in Boston and I live in Atlanta, we log our miles every day and show each other what we’ve done.  I wish she were here to physically go on the runs with me, but, again, that motivation and knowing I have someone to answer to has really helped.  The timing of the training for this race is incredible, too.  The first month was a bit cold but bearable and with each passing day its getting lighter earlier and the trees are blooming while the weather warms up a bit.  I’ve enjoyed the runs for the most part and know that I am doing this for fun and to feel better about my routine–to just get back into the swing of things and into regularly working out.  I know that if I don’t run today I won’t be able to build on each run like I am supposed to and, ultimately, that means the half marathon will be difficult and I’ll let myself and Morgan down. 

On top of all of that, Morgan, being the best friend in the whole world, sent me some awesome running shorts and fantastic shoes!  The fun gear, good music, and motivational friendship has gotten me to the point where I enjoy running.  So, that’s my story and the moral of it is: find a good running buddy and it will truly help with motivation and make running fun!

n9800336_31998512_2855

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:07 pm

    Cutesy runner and best daughter ever! I loved your blog!

  2. Mom permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:07 pm

    Cutest runner and best daughter ever! I loved your blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Long Branch Half Marathon Recap « Beantown Momma

Leave a Reply

