Skip to content

This Ice Cream Maker is Dangerous

April 15, 2011

In the last few weeks, I’ve discovered just how awesome my ice cream maker is.  This is both good and bad.  Bad because I can’t seem to stop myself from making amazing homemade ice cream.  Good because the darn thing needs to freeze and that takes at least a day, so I’m not going too overboard.  Yet.  I could always get a second insert, right?

I’ve been having a lot of fun looking through my 2 new cookbooks, and have big plans for all sorts of fun recipes.  However, I always like to start with the basics.  So the other night, I decided to try Ben & Jerry’s French Vanilla recipe.  I think now that I discovered it, I have absolutely no intentions of ever trying another vanilla or French vanilla ice cream.  Not only is it beyond fantastic, I feel like it’s a blank canvas.  You can do so much with vanilla ice cream.  First, the recipe!

You will need:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup milk (I just use skim)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla

First, whisk the eggs for a minute or two until they are frothy.

Picture 137
Add the sugar gradually, then whisk until it is all combined, about 1 minute.

Picture 010

Finally, add your heavy cream, milk and vanilla.  Whisk until it is all combined, then pour into your ice cream maker and freeze according to the directions.

Now comes the fun part.  Oh so fun…all of the great goodies you get to add!

So far I’ve made 2 batches.  Both rocked.

For one, right before I finished chilling the ice cream in the machine, I added hot melted chocolate and fleur de sel caramel.

Picture 003
Have you tried fleur de sel caramel sauce yet?  To say it’s amazing is an understatement.  I know Jessica agrees with me on this one!  The caramel swirled through was such a nice contrast to the strong vanilla flavor.  The melted chocolate all hardened as soon it hit the cold ice cream and made these awesome clumps of chocolate.  Heavenly.

Picture 038
For my next batch we decided to go hard or go home.  So this time there was even more alcohol involved in my ice cream!

Picture 180
I added 3 tbsp. Kahlua to the mixture before it went into the ice cream maker.  This time, instead of adding the extra goodies to the machine as the ice cream was chilling, I decided to layer them with the ice cream as I was putting it into a tupperware.  Though I love swirling it in, I thought this way each bite would have more of the chocolate and caramel goodness.  By swirling it in, a lot of the chocolate bits just ended up at the bottom.  Fun for Solomon who had the last serving, not so fun for me!  Also, I just used chocolate chips this time…the melted chocolate trumps them any day!

Picture 182
I think from now on, I’m going to add alcohol to any batch of ice cream I make.  THIS. WAS. AMAZING.  Totally and completely drool worthy.

Picture 185
Now I just wish that darn insert would freeze so I can make more ice cream.  A fridge full of ice cream sounds just fine to me!

No, I don’t have any patience.

What’s your favorite ice cream flavor?  What should I make next?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janis Rosenheck permalink
    April 15, 2011 12:59 pm

    You definitely are my daughter – my favorite flavor (one that Ben & Jerry no longer make 😦 unfortunately) was White Russian. A delightfully yummy blend of Vanilla Ice Cream and Kaluha – imagine that

  2. Robin's mom permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:14 pm

    What kind of ice cream maker do you have?

Leave a Reply

