Skip to content

Megan is a Runner

April 18, 2011

This is a new series here at Beantown Momma.  People who run will be sharing their stories-why they run, how they became a runner, why they love it.  If you would like to contribute to the I Am A Runner Series, please email me.  I’d love to share your story!

Hi Beantown Momma readers! I am Meg from Be Fit. Be Full. A big thanks to Morgan for asking
me to share my running story as part of her guest post series on running.

Similar to Morgan, I lived in Boston for seven years and spent many a day running around the
Charles River! Also similar to Morgan, I had a baby boy, Hunter, a few months ago.

BM photo#1

This means I spent 9 long months on a running hiatus. But six weeks after I delivered Hunter
I was given the two thumbs up to begin running again. Woo hoo! I have been running for the
past eleven years so after taking 9 months off I was more than ready to give it a go again! I
went from running 20-25 miles a week to stopping cold turkey due to three months of morning
sickness. Later on in my pregnancy there were several times that I just itched to run but was too
many weeks along. I couldn’t wait for the day I was able to lace up my sneakers again.

To give you a little back story, I didn’t always enjoy running. I grew up playing competitive
sports and never had to really think about “going for a run”. To be honest, I loathed running
without a soccer ball, field hockey or lacrosse stick, and I was that girl in gym class who groaned
every time she had to do the mile run! But after I retired from soccer my junior year of college
I turned to running as my main form of exercise. I needed to burn off all of those calories from
beer somehow!

It didn’t take me long to really enjoy running. It became my outlet. I loved being alone with my
thoughts, listening to my feet pound the pavement, and focusing on my rhythmic breaths. Music may motivate the majority of runners but I actually prefer to run without it.

BM photo 2

While I have run a handful of 5 and 10k’s and two half marathons, I mainly run for the enjoyment of it. And that’s what I think makes someone a “runner”. I don’t think you need to run competitively and sign up for races out the wazoo to be considered a runner. All you need to do is to run simply for the pleasure of it. Whether it be 2 miles or twenty miles, if you go for a run and find if fun and gratifying, then you are considered a runner in my opinion.

BM photo 3

I am still a runner even though it’s been almost a full year since I’ve run more than one mile. And I am still a runner even though my pace is the same as someone who is power walking. Even though it will take me a while to work back up to my previous pace and distance before I was pregnant, I get giddy just thinking about how I am finally able to go for going for a five minute jog. Five minutes is better than zero minutes, right?!

Happy Running!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 1:39 pm

    Great post and so true- lots of people are runners who don’t do races at all 🙂 Your son is adorable too by the way.

Leave a Reply

