Skip to content

Matzo Crack

April 21, 2011

Generally, I don’t really care for Passover.  I’m just not so into having a stomachache for 8 straight days, call me crazy.  The food is heavy and I find it hard to eat.  I either lose weight or gain weight every year, there’s no way of knowing.  I feel sluggish and just yuck. 

For the most part, Passover desserts are just not worth it.  Matzo meal chocolate cake?  I’ll pass. 

I have discovered one dessert that is not only worth it, but I might consider eating it year round if I didn’t just tolerate matzo, but actually liked it.  I call it matzo crack.  Jewish Home Cooking calls it Matzo Buttercrunch.  Really though, it’s crack.  Once you start, it’s hard to stop.

Picture 322

You will need:

  • 1 cup butter or butter substitute
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 4-6 matzo boards
  • 12 oz. chocolate
  • nuts or other toppings

Preheat oven to375*.

Spread a cookie sheet with tin foil and cover with a layer of parchment paper.  Or, if you’re me and don’t have Passover cookie sheets for some reason, use a glass Pyrex dish.

Lay the matzo out on the parchment paper.  Try not to let the matzo overlap too much.
 Picture 325 Picture 328

Melt your butter (or parve or vegan substitute-I use Earth Balance) with brown sugar over medium heat.

Picture 320 Picture 327 
Let it come to a boil, then cook 3 more minutes, stirring constantly. 

Pour this over your matzo, covering it evenly.  Set the oven to 350* and cook for 15 minutes.

Picture 330

As soon as you take the matzo out, sprinkle chocolate chips on top.  Allow them to sit for 5 minutes, then spread the chocolate evenly on top of the matzo.  
 Picture 338  Picture 337
Sprinkle with any toppings you like and stick them in the fridge until the chocolate hardens.  Break up the matzo into pieces and enjoy!

Picture 246
Pretty?  Not particularly.

Addictive?  Totally.

It would be fun to experiment with this too-white chocolate chips, heat bar pieces, different candies.  Who knew matzo could be so fun?  Not me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:24 pm

    A lot of people in my office celebrate Passover, so we have an abundance of Matzo crackers around (they spread cream cheese on them for a substitute during a bagel party yesterday. I haven’t had the crackers, but I’m begging people to bring me matzo ball soup!

    I have to ask though… Passover cookie sheets?

    • April 21, 2011 5:37 pm

      We have to change our whole kitchen to Passover-plates, utensils, cooking things, etc. I thought about doing a post about it but just wasn’t feeling it

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. April 21, 2011 5:52 pm

    Yum! This looks fantastic!!

  3. Robin permalink
    April 21, 2011 10:43 pm

    someone brought this to my seder this year–yum.

    most appropriate representation in the recipe: matzah boards. yep, like wooden boards.

    happy pesach to you, solomon, and aaron! and ruff ruff to rufio!

Leave a Reply

