Skip to content

Day 1: The Married Life

April 23, 2011

Day 1 of the blog challenge:

day 1

Solomon and I have been together almost 8 years.  If you had asked me 8 years ago if you thought I would be married to him, and have a baby with him, I surely would have laughed (sorry babe).

We both went to Brandeis, and kind of “knew” each other, but not well.  More like we knew each other in passing-we were aware of one another, but we weren’t really friends and didn’t really have too many mutual friends.  The first time I ever really had any contact with Solomon was my junior year.  My girlfriend was dating one of his suitemates, so sometimes we would end up there to hang out-or we would sneak over and steal a piece of coffeecake (they always had coffeecake).  That was about it.

Senior year, Solomon lived with some of my girlfriends.  It was kind of weird, but just a product of the housing lottery.  So here’s the deal…Becca was my freshman year roommate.  Becca’s mom, and Solomon’s aunt are childhood best friends.  Then, Becca and Solomon’s cousin Dan were born in the same hospital room, ON THE SAME DAY.  Crazy, right?  So Becca always knew Solomon, and the families would all get together and blah, blah, blah.  One night I was over at their suite, and Becca kept trying to push Solomon and I together-making little comments, encouraging me to go hang out with him.  So I finally just decided to hang out with Solomon.

One thing eventually led to another.  We realized this was more than just a fling, and decided to get serious with one another, even though we were graduating from college, and had no idea where our paths were taking us. 

DSC01013
Let’s fast forward a bit, shall we?  This has the potential to get really long, really fast.

In early 2006, we began to talk and realized we were ready to be engaged.  So on a cold March day, Solomon took me on a scavenger hunt, and proposed to me in the Boston Public Gardens.  You can read more about it here.

We decided to wait until after I graduated law school to get married, and had a lot of fun leading up to the wedding.  Lots of parties and celebrations kept us in the wedding spirit!

Then, on October 14, 2007 we got married.  It was awesome.  Our ceremony was beautiful, our party was a blast, and we had such a wonderful night.

Now here we are.

We’ve been married 3 1/2 years.  Being married to my best friend has been wonderful, but marriage is not the easiest thing.  It’s a lot of work, but I do think it helps you to appreciate the person you’re on this journey with a lot more (corny, right?).  Solomon and I have been through a lot together, and keep coming out stronger and stronger.  I was never the girl who dreamed about my wedding and imagined my perfect husband, but I know I found him and I think what we have is pretty awesome (could I get any cornier?  Seriously).  Solomon and I are both opinionated, stubborn, loud and fairly assertive people.  Somehow though, we work.

We’re building a wonderful family and life together.  We have our Rufio (can you believe how little he was when he first came home?):

DSC00752
A house that we have turned into a home:

DSC05763 
And a completely delicious, amazing, gorgeous 6 month old son:

Picture 215
Life is good!

Relationships are work, but they payoff is worth it!  10 years ago if you had asked me where I would be right before I turned 30, I wouldn’t have guessed how my life would turn out, but no complaints here!

I can’t wait to see our relationship grow and change, we have so much to look forward to!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2011 1:53 pm

    This is a great post!

  2. April 23, 2011 2:39 pm

    awwh, i loved hearing your story!!! so cute!! somehow over the last 7 plus months of reading your blog, i have missed the fact that you graduated law school. neato!

  3. April 24, 2011 1:32 am

    Love your story! It’s so fun to look back on the moment a relationship was beginning and how many things had to fall into place for you both to get together!

Leave a Reply

