Skip to content

Lee is a Runner

April 25, 2011

This is a new series here at Beantown Momma.  People who run will be sharing their stories-why they run, how they became a runner, why they love it.  If you would like to contribute to the I Am A Runner Series, please email me.  I’d love to share your story!

Hey Beantown Momma readers!  My name is Lee and I blog at inmytummy.com.  In the past six years, I’ve really gotten into running.  I’ve run 1 full marathon, 8 half-marathons and countless 5 and 10Ks.  But I wasn’t always so active.

My family wasn’t big into sports so I was never really encouraged to play any.  When I was really young, like elementary school aged, I did soccer and gymnastics for a few years, but never really felt like I was good at either one so I quit. 

Middle and high school brought on what I like to think of as "The Couch Potato Years."  In 8th grade gym class, we had to do a 1 mile run every Friday and I always, always walked the whole thing.  Sports, fitness and being active were the last things on my mind.

I didn’t actually start running at all until college.  For a few years, I got myself to a point where I could run 2 miles on the treadmill at a pretty slow pace.  Though I was proud of myself for this, for some reason, it didn’t occur to me to ever try to run longer or even faster for that matter.  My roommate sophomore year of college took a Marathon Training class for PE and I distinctly remember thinking that she was nuts. 

After college, I spent years running the same two miles at the same pace.  Then I got involved with a fitness based message board forum (pre-blogging).  I started to read a lot of race reports and it suddenly occurred to me that this is something that I actually could do.  I honestly think that before that, I never really thought of myself as a runner.  I think I thought that people who run races were just naturally good at running.  But after I read all of these stories of training and building up to races, I realized that it was something that I could do too.  And I wanted to!

My first race that I signed up for was a half-marathon!  I know, it’s quite a way to start out my racing career, right?  When I signed up, I could run 4 miles.  I put my faith in my training plan, which was Hal Higdon’s Beginner plan, and twelve weeks later, I was able to run my first half-marathon, the Silver Comet in Atlanta.  What made this race even more special was that I ran it with my father, it was also his first half marathon (although he’d done other races) and I beat him by 1 second!

After that, you could say I caught the bug.  Running just became a part of who I am.  It’s a huge part of my life.  I know that a lot of people say that if I can do it, you can do it, but I think this is absolutely true in this case.  I am not a natural athlete.  I can’t throw a ball five feet!  After years of practice, I’m still not that fast of a runner and I have bad form to boot.  But I firmly believe that running is 85% mental.  Sure, you have to physically train your body to get there but believing in yourself is the only way that you can do that. 

If you ever thought to yourself, "I wish I could run," guess what?  You can.  You just have to do it.

Lee

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 12:02 pm

    Thanks for posting, Morgan!

Leave a Reply

