Skip to content

Caroline is a Runner

May 2, 2011

This is a new series here at Beantown Momma.  People who run will be sharing their stories-why they run, how they became a runner, why they love it.  If you would like to contribute to the I Am A Runner Series, please email me.  I’d love to share your story!

Hey Beantown Momma readers! My name is Caroline and I blog at Boston Runner (http://sunapeegirl.wordpress.com). I love Morgan’s new "I am a runner" series so I was really excited when she asked me to do a guest post!

Memorial Day Weekend-220 
I used to think of a runner as someone who ran marathons in the mountains, lost toenails more than their car keys, battled a run in the cold New England winters, had a skinny, small frame and wore shorts with underwear inside them. I didn’t think I was part of this elite group (nor was I sure I wanted to be – those underwear shorts can be uncomfortable!). But then I realized you don’t have to do any of those things to be a runner, all you have to do is run and love it. Here’s my running story. 

Growing up as a competitive athlete, I was trained to think of running as punishment. It was something my teammates and I were forced to do as a result of losing a game, not paying attention to the coach, or just the inevitable of try-outs. We dreaded hearing the words, “Let’s line up on the goal line”. We spent every moment outside of school running after balls or to home plate. It was a means to an end – the way to beat the opponent to the ball or score the winning run. But running just to run? That was absurd. Or at least that’s what I thought, until the comfort zone of a year-round athlete schedule came crashing to pieces.

I went to college, where I was left with no sports, no teammates, and no where to turn. I missed the adrenaline rush I once got on the field, I missed pushing my body to the limit, and I even missed attending to sore muscles and painful bruises. I became short-tempered, depressed, and tired all the time.

It was then that I really discovered running. Through tons of research, doctors visits, customized orthotics, and new shoes, I was able to overcome the shin splints that had haunted me since my soccer playing years. I set out to the gym every morning before classes and ran;I ran my heart out. I ran away from college stresses, homesickness, and the freshman fifteen. It was then that my idea of running shifted from something I was forced to do, to something I wanted to do.

Suddenly, I began to find balance in a typical college schedule that was way too flexible. In addition to pounding the pavement every morning, I picked up a part-time job on campus at the library and started cooking my own food rather than eating at the dining hall. I was happy, healthy and had more energy than ever before.

Two years ago, I caught the racing bug from my sister, Kelly. Since then, I have completed my first sprint triathlon, numerous 5Ks, and even my first half marathon. This spring, I’m training for my second half marathon and officially registered for the 2011 Chicago Marathon. I have big dreams of running the Boston Marathon, but I’m in no rush to get there just yet. I like having something to work toward : )

Falmouth Triathlon 110

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 8:25 pm

    Wahoo, I am famous!!!! haha. It’s so funny that I just wrote a post about how I’m sick of having working out goals- haha we just found a way we are not alike 🙂

    Can’t wait to watch your half and full marathons later this year Caroline!

Leave a Reply

