Skip to content

Long Branch Half Marathon Recap

May 4, 2011

Are you guys so sick of hearing me go on and on about my half marathon yet?  I’m not over it yet and have lots of pictures to share!

For my first race (other than a 10K a few weeks ago that wasn’t worth mentioning), this was the perfect race to pick!  I signed up to run the Jersey Shore half marathon with Robin and my friend Brian.  It was a GORGEOUS day-warm, sunny, a light breeze and a bright blue sky.  We couldn’t have asked for better weather!

Picture 045
We got onto the buses fairly early, and spent a lot of time hanging out before the race (and made several port-a-potty trips each).  Solomon and Aaron joined us (so I was able to feed Aaron) and we just spent time getting pumped up and people watching.  The local radio station was playing nonstop Bruce Springsteen-it was just so JERSEY!

Picture 067 Picture 079 Picture 084 Picture 107

We lined up, and were ready and raring to go.  Of course there was a fight, with a guy who wasn’t running screaming at another guy that he was a prick (it was the Jersey Shore after all).  They kept of blasting the Bruce (though I was hoping for a little Bon Jovi),. which of course kept the crowd going.   Once the race started they played “Born to Run,” but when we crossed the starting line, they were playing “Streets of Philadelphia.”  Not really pump up, inspirational music, but what can you do?

After about a half mile, Brian got antsy and had to go ahead of us (I knew that would happen since I’m super slow).  He ended up doing amazing, though we missed running with him.  Then it was just girl time for Robin and I.  We caught up, did a whole lot of gossiping and talked smack about all the people running.  It was a blast!

Picture 155 Picture 160
Robin kept to my pace, and we ran comfortably the whole time.  I was so proud that we ran the whole thing, without a single walking break except for quick 20 second walks at the water/Gatorade stop and a bathroom break for me (my post pregnancy bladder is so small).  There were great crowds all along the whole route, cheering and so excited to be out there.  It felt great to feel like there was so much support.  People on the course were just so into it!  Seeing all of the signs and banners, college students playing beer pong and people lounging on their lawns with champagne was so much fun!

I only had one moment where I was annoyed with the other runners.  There was a relay, and 2 of the girls were running at the same pace as Robin and I.  Once we hit the 3 mile marker, one said to the other “we’re almost halfway there.”  The other said “Thankfully, because if we had to do 10 more miles I’d kill myself.”  Really?  Who says that?  It just seemed like such a stupid thing for anyone to say!

Picture 166

Robin and I crossed the finish line hand in hand, arms in the air, together the whole way.  We both felt fantastic afterwards (and HUNGRY).  We got through with minimal injuries (we both had some blisters and black toenails-ew), but other than normal soreness and tightness of the legs (and a wicked bad shoulder sunburn for me), and celebrated with Thai food and milkshakes!

Picture 211 Picture 221

My favorite little cheerleader thought my medal was delicious (almost as much as Brian did).

Picture 245
I can’t believe how far I’ve come, and that I DID IT!  I loved the whole process-from training to the actual race.  I feel like I’ve been completely bitten by the racing bug, and can’t wait for more races coming up.  I’m currently signed up for Boston’s Run to Remember (the 5 miler), the Warrior Dash, and of course, The New York Marathon.

Thanks for listening to me go on and on about my half marathon.  To say I’m proud would be an understatement, I can’t wait to keep racing!

Picture 199

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 9:45 am

    congrats!!! sounds like it was a great race 🙂

  2. May 4, 2011 9:42 pm

    Awesome job, Morgan! I’m doing the Warrior Dash next weekend. I’ll let you know how I goes!

Trackbacks

  1. Not Derailed « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a Reply

