Skip to content

Katy is a Runner

May 9, 2011

This is a new series here at Beantown Momma.  People who run will be sharing their stories-why they run, how they became a runner, why they love it.  If you would like to contribute to the I Am A Runner Series, please email me.  I’d love to share your story!

Even after three half marathons, several 5Ks, a 10K and multiple triathlons…

…I have trouble calling myself a runner.

HalfMarathonKaty 
I mean, runners are those lean men and women with 2% body fat, who bust out 10-mile runs at at 7:00 pace and have multiple medals and bibs posted in their trophy rooms, right?

I’m a curvy girl who hits the mental wall at about 6 miles and averages a 9:30 pace. I have finisher medals galore, but no special honors.

And the only joy I get in running is when it’s over.

So why do I do it?

The thrill of crossing the finish line. Of knowing that I set a goal and reached it. Of watching my body do more than it could the day before; the week before; the year before.

I run because I can, and for those who can’t. I run because it’s “me” time and because it’s the best way to rock out to my Top 40 playlist.

I run because it keeps me connected with friends, lets me travel to amazing places and puts me in that elite group of people who know what IT bands and foam rollers are.

The first time I knew I was a runner was when I completed a 10-mile run. I couldn’t believe I’d done it. I couldn’t believe I wanted to do it again.

So how do I know I’m a runner? I don’t stop. I won’t stop. I’ll run for the rest of my days!

SweatyKaty

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 4:03 pm

    Love the last pic of you!

    Morgan, cant wait for next week!

Leave a Reply

