Skip to content

Nine Months

July 21, 2011

It’s clear that I’ve been having a bit of a blog identity crisis.

I started out kind of in the “healthy living” blog world.  Though I continue to live a healthy life, I don’t blog about it.  I don’t share my new exercise or food finds.  It doesn’t occur to me to take pictures of fun and exciting things I cook.  I certainly don’t share everything I eat.  It’s just not me. 

I changed my blog a little bit after Aaron was born to reflect who I am now-a stay at home mom to an amazing little boy.  It didn’t make me blog more.  I knew I wanted to blog, I just didn’t know what about.

Well, today I read a blog and it felt right to me.  Meg, formerly of Be Fit.  Be Full. began a new blog called Notes to Hunter where she is writing letters to her beautiful son about what’s going on in his little world.  As someone who hasn’t been so good about the baby book thing, I love this idea.  I love the idea of turning my blog into a baby book for Aaron.  Though he’s already nine months and a lot has happened, there’s so much more to document.  I’m going to use this blog as my space to do that now.  Thank you so much Meg for the inspiration.  Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery 🙂

So here goes…

Dear Aaron,

Time flies so fast.  You are already 9 months old.  You’ve been living in this world almost as long as you were growing inside me (you really didn’t want to come out, we had to induce labor because you were so comfortable).

Picture 280
Every single day is more and more fun with you.  You have a smile that lights up the whole room.  Seriously, every single part of your face smiles, it’s huge and beautiful.  You are one of the most social little people I’ve ever met.  You have a smile for everyone, a high five for anyone who wants one, and a wave for anyone in the room.  You flirt with every girl in the room, and seem to take a big liking to waitresses in particular.

Picture 578

Speaking of waitresses, boy do you love restaurants.  Your grandma Marlene jokes that you always know when you are in a restaurant.  You look around so happy and in awe in your high chair and start demanding food within seconds of sitting down.  You bang on the table as if to say “bring on the dancing girls!”  You reach for utensils, and try to eat our food too.  Maybe we eat out too much, but there are waitresses, waiters, hosts and managers at restaurants that know you.  They comment how much you have grown and how gorgeous and sweet you are.

Picture 345

Maybe you love restaurants so much since you LOVE to eat (really, you are 22 pounds-85th percentile.  85th percentile for height too-29.5 inches!).  You love to try new foods, and want to eat everything that comes your way.  Recently, you’ve tried pasta, hummus and pita (we were in Israel after all), watermelon, ice cream, different cheeses, a few new vegetables, cherries and every fruit imaginable.  You love it all.  You devour almost every bite and are always up for eating.

Picture 545

Clearly you have the fine motor skills down pat.  Mr. Social Butterfly.  We’re still waiting for all of the gross motor skills, but they are on their way.  You are so desperate to crawl and stand, but very content to sit and play, even while your friends crawl all over the place.  I know that in no time whatsoever you’ll be on the move and I’ll be chasing all over the place after you.  Whenever people question if I’m worried that you aren’t crawling, I just tell them that all babies get there on their own time, and you’ll be on the move soon enough.  Besides, you are doing things other babies don’t do.  Everyone has their strength, you just seem to be the talker.  Maybe you’ll be a politician one day?  You are the chairman of the board after all.  Even though you aren’t crawling yet, you are practically swimming!  You love to go underwater, and to kick your feet.  Just like your mom, you’d be content to spend all day in the pool if we let you.  Swim lessons in the fall will be a lot of fun.

Picture 167

Little Boy, you get more and more fun every single day.  I can’t believe you are 9 months old already.  I’m so excited for the rest of this (very busy) summer!

Picture 115

Love,

Mama

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 10:27 pm

    That picture of him eating the pita is too cute.

  2. July 21, 2011 10:28 pm

    i was just thinking about you and shannon yesterday since you were both MIA for awhile. love the photo of aaron eating the pita. hope the trip was awesome! happy 9 months!!

  3. July 22, 2011 8:01 am

    Aw, what a great idea- that will be really fun for you and him to look back on!

    And seriously, who wants to rush crawling? Enjoy the more calm times while they last haha.

  4. July 25, 2011 11:53 am

    This is a great idea! I love the keeping records of things, and I think this would be so cool if my mom had done this when I was young to look back on.

  5. July 25, 2011 9:19 pm

    I love this idea. I am a new mom of a now 8 month old and have a hard time keeping up with all her new things. Just last week we had a tooth and crawling. Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

