Skip to content

K.I.S.S.

December 22, 2009

That’s what my dad always says.  It’s short for Keep It Short and Sweet (or Keep It Simple Stupid, which doesn’t apply here). 

Why keeping it short you ask?  If you follow me on Twitter, you know about my stupidity.  My hand looks like this:

DSC03664Needless to say, typing is a bitch.

DSC03665Don’t you just love Rufio in the bottom corner trying to play with my hand.  And that would be Emily, who married Ross on Friends in the background.

I cut off the whole pad of my fingers CLEANING my mandoline slicer.  Smart, huh?  I get cuts all the time, and usually patch them up myself, but after 45 minutes of bleeding, I thought I should go to the ER.  It was a smart move.  This big wad of gauze will be off in a day or so.  The good thing is that I got one of my favorite treats, DQ!  There’s nothing better than vanilla ice cream with rainbow sprinkles!

DSC03678 DSC03677

Otherwise, yesterday was fairly uneventful (If you count a trip to the E.R. uneventful!).  Rufio had some “spa time” and looks so handsome!

DSC03661I got in a wonderful run-IN THE SNOW!  I think I’m ready to call myself a runner finally (more on that in the next day or so).

I also got an awesome gift from my Secret Santa.  Some GoRaw bars amazing smelling goodies from Philosophy and Yoga Socks!  I’ve wanted a pair of these for awhile now, because I always slip and slide too much!  Thank you so much Chrysta!

 DSC03671 DSC03672 DSC03673 DSC03674 DSC03675Time to TRY and get some baking done (if I can manage without getting too messy!)

Don’t forget about the Aurorae mat giveaway or the Wusthof giveaway!

What’s one of the silliest accidents you’ve ever had?

Other than this one (seriously, who slices off their fingerprints?!?!) I had a door fall on my nose, breaking it and giving me 2 black eyes.  I also fall down.  A LOT.  Very, very clumsy 🙂

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    December 22, 2009 8:29 am

    i’m so sorry about your finger! over the summer, on the day my old roommate moved out, i got out of bed and decided to help her. i literally woke up, put on my flip flops and decided to carry her television from her room to her car. no “good morning,” no breakfast, no contacts…just woke up and carried a tv. yada yada yada…i was at the ER 20 minutes later with two bone bruises and a sprained ankle. gotta love the meadville medical center!

  2. December 22, 2009 8:30 am

    I’m sorry about your finger! I once closed a car door on my pinkie finger. I thought I had broken it. It was around the time that my hard-drive crashed on my computer and I had a HUGE technology project due… STRESS!

  3. Lizzy permalink
    December 22, 2009 8:49 am

    O girl what are we going to do with you! silly girl. atleast it wasn’t anything major major, and you can take the bandages off soon!!!!! stay safe love!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. December 22, 2009 9:18 am

    Ugh! Just thinking fo that makes my skin crawl – it had to hurt so bad!

  5. December 22, 2009 9:29 am

    Um… OUCH!!!!

    I attract random injuries. One of the more embarrassing ones involves a carpet runner falling on my knee (no, not the other way around)… and leaving a scar so that I can’t ever forget my idiocy. :p

    ❤ ❤

  6. December 22, 2009 10:07 am

    awesome gift!! I still havent recieved my SS yet! can;t wait though!!!

    so sorry about your hand mishap hopefully it will heal ASAP! when I was younger, I was jumping off a rock onto the sand on a beach and my pinky toe hit the top of another rock and the whole nail came off, that HURT so bad!!!

    feel better!!

  7. December 22, 2009 10:18 am

    i once scooted a chair in where i was sitting and chopped my toe open… and didn’t realize it until my flip flop was full of blood! i still have a scar. from pushing in a chair.

    i didn’t tell anyone else at the table what i did because seriously, who manages to hurt themselves pushing in a chair?

  8. greensandjeans permalink
    December 22, 2009 10:42 am

    Most embarassing? Easy. I fell off a chair at a sushi restaurant and broke three bones in my hand! None of my friends believed me that it was broken, and when I wokeup the next day it was mega swollen. A trip to the er, a cast, and many laughs later, I am left with a very embarassing story

  9. genesis permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:08 am

    oh you poor thing. well at least you got sprinkles. sprinkles makes everything so much better.

    rufio is such a stud!

  10. peanutbutterfingers permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:29 am

    aw i’m so sorry about your finger! what a pain. 😦 sprinkles do have a way of turning even the worst frown upside down!

  11. December 22, 2009 11:43 am

    I know those cookie flavored philosophy products smell heavenly. Great gifts from your secret santa. I hope your finger is back to normal soon and you have a speedy recovery. The siliest accident I have ever had was making a u turn after stopping at a “stop sign” and assumed the other person would stop at their “stop sign” just like I did, so I kept going…only to find out there was no stop sign where I thought there was so the man didn’t have one. I did however have one after my u turn, but thought he would stop. I was wrong. I got out and yelled at him for running a stop sign…yeah, way to look dumb! Luckily no one was hurt and that was accident #2 for me that week (the first was not my fault and was a hit and run situation). I was planning on buying a new car the next week anyway so totalling my first first car ever wasn’t the worst thing I have ever had happen to me.

  12. December 22, 2009 12:49 pm

    Ouch!!

    When I was 10, I closed the car door on my finger. It hurt for about a month afterwards!

  13. December 22, 2009 1:17 pm

    Yikes girl!!!! I am glad you are ok but oh my I can imagine how much that would stink!!!!!! Be careful love!!!!

    What great gifts you got from Secret Santa, I have the same yoga socks, they rock!!!

    Have a great day!!!!!

  14. December 22, 2009 1:22 pm

    Ouch, sorry to here about your finger. Those mandoline slicers can definitely be dangerous! I’ve definitely cut myself one too many times in the kitchen due to not fully paying attention!

  15. December 22, 2009 5:09 pm

    Im so sorry about your finger!! hope you feel better soon 🙂
    oh man, how I miss DQ. haven’t had one since I moved to the east. booo they had the best blizzards.

  16. December 22, 2009 8:47 pm

    OWWWWWWWW! That looks painful! I’ve cut myself a lot, but I think my dumbest injuries have been playing hockey…but not from getting hit, but from falling…and not from a check but just falling because. And I’m a really good skater…ice is just hard and you go down a lot faster when you’re on a slippery surface. Feel better!!!!!

  17. December 23, 2009 2:12 am

    Yey!!! Im so glad you got your gift=) Enjoy it!!!
    Im so sorry to hear about your finger too. That looks so painful. I hope you feel better soon! The DQ treat looks great though. Sprinkles make my day=) Have fun baking!

  18. December 23, 2009 6:58 am

    Oh my gosh you poor thing! Ouch! I’m such a wimp I don’t get hurt very often. I never try anything that I will fall, break something, drown, catch on fire… ect…. Hope you feel better soon! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Mexican Hot Chocolate Fudge « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  2. Some A for Your Q « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  3. Garlic Parmesan Truffle Fries « Live, Love, Eat and Play

Leave a comment